Public Relations

For media inquiries, please contact Ginnie Flynn, Vice President of Communications, [email protected] or 630-427-8004

NEW: Learn more about our media relations impact.  NEW - link to COVID19 press with IAFP members
Do you have news regarding an IAFP member? If so, e-mail us!
Are you a member willing to field requests from the media?  If so, use this form to tell us more!

Find us on Facebook  .  Link to our Social Media Policy

Meet the 2020 Awards Honorees and 2020 President's Awards

Meet the 2019 IAFP Awards Honorees 

Meet the 2018 IAFP Awards Honorees

 Meet the 2017 IAFP Awards honorees.


2016 Awards:   Read the press release (or  download Word file)  and view photos of the awards honorees


Highlight video of Dr. Stephen Pilcher, Owner, Bloomington Primary Care and 2016 Family Physician of the Year

  View listing of all FP of the Year and Teachers of the Year

IAFP Statements
Tobacco Policy
IAFP statement on supporting graduate medical education in any health care reform process.
State Government issues
Teaching Health Centers

IAFP Supports Cook County Sugar Sweetened Beverage Tax -  Read the testimony provided by past president Javette C. Orgain, MD, MPH, FAAFP at the Board meeting on 11/10/16

IAFP Supports Tobacco 21 laws.  Read the letter to the editor from President Alvia Siddiqi, MD that appeared in the Feb. 1 Chicago Sun-Times.

STATEMENT in advance of March 16 City Council meeting

STATEMENT in response to Feb. 23rd press conference by aldermen opposed to the Chicago ordinance. 

IAFP member Dr. Olaoluwa Fayanju authored a column on black men's health in the Chicago Defender.   Read it here

Check out the IAFP's education video on the flu vaccine and why you should get one!  

   Adult vaccination radio spot.  

Awards History 

2015 IAFP Awards Honorees .  You can view and download photos here

Read the speech from Family Physician of the Year Elba M. Villavincencio, MD

Congratulations to Alisha T. Thomas, MD - AAFP 2015 Exemplary Teaching Award winner!  Read more.



IAFP 2014 Awards Honorees (Nov. 2014)

Executive Vice President Vince Keenan honored for 25 years at IAFP (Nov. 2014)




IAFP 2013 Award Winners (Nov. 2013)

Family Physicians and the Affordable Care Act (Sept. 2013)

Small practice makes big changes (June 2013)