IAFP Committees & Task Forces

To join an IAFP Committee, Task Force, or Member Interest Group (MIG), fill out this short online form

Committees - Generally meet once every two or three months via teleconference and will use email to update and communicate. Committee meetings typically last 1-2 hours and action items from your committee are considered by the Board of Directors.  You can contact the staff person assigned to the committee.

Task Forces - Generally meet via e-mail or teleconference as needed to accomplish tasks. There are no planned face-to-face meetings of task force members.

Member Interest Groups - Click here to learn more - MIGs have the option to meet at IAFP events and communicate independently by e-mail listserv. You can join a MIG through your online profile by joining the e-mail list or contacting the staff member for the group.  

Continuing Medical Education Committee

Shape the education menu for IAFP. Develop, present, research and promote education opportunities that are timely, relevant, and of the highest quality. The CME Committee is actively involved in the creation and development of all CME programs and is responsible for receiving and reviewing proposed CME for live IAFP accredited events.

Some expected responsibilities:

  • Recruit or serve as faculty as needed for webinars, enduring materials, live meetings, and program development. 
  • Review presentations for commercial bias and oversee accreditation for organization.
  • Assist in the development of a KSA, and either present a KSA or help update outdated presentations. 
  • Serve as onsite moderators for live meetings 

Meetings: Via evening teleconference approximately every six weeks, 1 in person meeting at Annual Meeting.  Staff contact is Kate Valentine

Government Relations Committee

Inform and guide the Academy's advocacy efforts. The GR Committee evaluates current issues pending at the state and federal level and determines their relationship and relevancy to IAFP/AAFP policy.

Some expected responsibilities:

  • Participate in grass roots lobbying on physician and patient-centered legislation;
  • Use their knowledge to educate local colleagues and lawmakers on key issues;
  • Recommend support, opposition, or changes to state legislation and regulations brought to them for consideration;
  • Foster conducive discussions that may lead to improved policies at the state and federal level that benefit family medicine and patient care.
  • Assist and participate in the biennial Spring Into Action (mini lobby days) at which IAFP members meet to discuss issues of importance with elected officials and policymakers in Springfield.

Meetings: Via evening teleconference approximately every eight-to-ten weeks, one in-person meeting at the Annual Meeting. Staff contact is Gordana Krkic, CAE

Family Medicine Educators Committee

Serve a conduit for educator issues on faculty development, student interest, and resident activity. Promote Family Medicine Midwest and IAFP opportunities to the Illinois medical education community. Employed faculty and community based preceptors are encouraged to join.

Some expected responsibilities:
  • Implement the Academy's resident research project webinar by recruiting resident presenters and serving as a volunteer reviewer (typically in May)
  • Promote Family Medicine Midwest and encourage colleagues to submit abstracts and attend the conference
  • Promote residency program participation in the AAFP National Conference of Students and Residents
  • Encourage student and resident participation in IAFP events and leadership opportunities with IAFP and AAFP. 
  • Select the IAFP Resident Teacher of the Year recipient from nominations submitted by Illinois programs. 

Meetings:  Committee meets by conference call typically quarterly, and then face-to-face at the Annual Meeting.  Staff contact is Ginnie Flynn

Public Health Committee
Take your passion for public health beyond your practice! Oversee and advocate for the family medicine viewpoint in the public health arena. Suggest comments on public health issues, propose CME topics on public health. Can be asked to serve on state, regional, and local public health entities, task forces, and committees and advocacy efforts.  Staff contact is Gordana Krkic, CAE

Public Relations Task Force
Love to brag about family medicine and all you do? This committee evaluates nominees for IAFP awards, including the Family Physician of the Year Award and Family Medicine Teachers of the Year Awards. The committee also serves as first respondents to media request on patient education and health topics.  The awards review process is done in July with an August teleconference to make decisions to forward to the IAFP board of directors. Staff contact is Ginnie Flynn