IAFP Awards

View a listing of past IAFP Awards honorees here.

Family Physician of the Year - Nomination form
Deadline for nominations July 1
The Family Physician of the Year Award recognizes a physician who
•    Provides patients with compassionate, comprehensive and caring family medicine
•    Is directly involved in community affairs and activities to enhance the quality of the community
•    Provides a credible role model professionally and personally to other health professionals, and residents and medical students
•    Can effectively represent IAFP and the specialty of family medicine in the public arena
•    Exemplifies the family physician’s leadership role improving the health of our state.

Eligibility Requirements
    Each candidate must:
    1.    Be in active practice, with at least 50 percent of his/her time in direct patient care.
    2.    Be an IAFP member in good standing.
    3.    Be board certified in family medicine.
    4.    Be in practice at least five years since completing residency training

Members of the IAFP Board of Directors, members of the IAFP Public Relations Task Force, and previous recipients of the award are not eligible.

Vincent D. Keenan Award for Servant Leadership - Learn more

Family Medicine Teachers of the Year - Nomination form

Illinois medical students, residents and educators to nominate members for the Illinois Family Medicine Teacher of the Year.  We are accepting nominees for two separate categories:  Employed or Volunteer faculty. 
The deadline for nominations is July 1

The Teacher of the Year Awards recognizes a physician who has made outstanding contributions to the field of teaching family medicine by developing and implementing innovations in family medicine education. He or she also inspires new family physicians through dedication, mentoring and support.   
Eligibility Requirements
    Each candidate must:
    1.    Be actively engaged in patient care.
    2.    Be an IAFP member in good standing.
    3.    Be board certified in family medicine.
    4.    Have continuous active involvement in formal family medicine education at either the medical school or residency level for at least two years