Family Medicine Midwest Foundation

The Family Medicine Midwest Foundation, a 501 (c) 3 organization, is an established leader in collaborative family medicine workforce development.  Our mission is to build our family medicine future for our region.

Link to Family Medicine Midwest Membership information and find out how you can support our efforts all year long!

Link to Family Medicine Midwest Conference information

Student Scholarships Fuel Family Medicine Midwest Family Medicine Midwest provides vital scholarship support for students, including free registration, and financial support towards travel and hotel expenses.  Students at any allopathic or osteopathic medical school in any of the Family Medicine Midwest 12 states are eligible for scholarships support. 

DONATE ONLINE   and/or NEW: You can shop on AmazonSmile and donate 0.5% of your purchase directly to the Family Medicine Midwest Foundation

The centerpiece of the Family Medicine Midwest Foundation is an annual conference in October.  This three-day event attracts faculty, resident and medical students from all 12 Midwest states in order to:

•    Attract and inspire medical students to choose Midwest Family Medicine Residency Programs
•    Provide a format for residents to present, to learn from each other and from faculty presenters, and find their family medicine career path
•    Showcase the amazing variety of career opportunities in family medicine
•    Provide a platform to share innovative ideas, best practices and build regional networks dedicated to improving the health of all patients, tackling many of tough issues facing health care today.

For more information:  Contact Vince Keenan, FMMF executive director, at or 630-435-0257.

Board of Directors:

Chair: Andrew Slattengren, DO, University of Minnesota 

Vice- Chair: Kathleen M. Macken, MD, United Family Medicine Residency Program (MN)
Treasurer: Risheet Patel, MD, Indiana Academy of Family Physicians
Executive Director: Vincent D. Keenan, CAE – Illinois Academy of Family Physicians 
Janice Benson, MD, University of Chicago/NorthShore University
David M. Deci, MD, University of Wisconsin and Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians 
Judith Gravdal, MD - Advocate Lutheran General Hospital, Park Ridge (IL)
Alicia Vazquez, MD - Presence Saints Mary and Elizabeth's Family Medicine Residency, Chicago
Tricia Hern, MD - Community Hospital East Family Medicine Residency, Indianapolis

Jacob Prunuske, MD, MSPH - University of Wisconsin

Anuj Shah, MD - Northwestern McGaw Family Medicine Residency, Chicago


Illinois * Indiana * Iowa * Kansas * Kentucky *

Michigan * Missouri * Minnesota * Nebraska *

North Dakota * South Dakota * Wisconsin


 Family Medicine Midwest has joined with Needy Meds, working together to help patients afford their medications.  Click on the logo to learn more about this not-for-profit assistance program.


Family Medicine Midwest Foundation Member Organizations



Allina Health
Family Health Foundation of Illinois
Indiana Academy of Family Physicians
Department of Family Medicine - Midwest, Mayo Clinic
Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians
Rosalind Franklin University - Chicago Medical School 
University of Chicago/NorthShore University HealthSystems
University of Illinois College of Medicine at Rockford
University of Minnesota Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
University of Wisconsin- Department of Family Medicine and Community Health


2015 Inspiration Awards click on the link to see some of the tweets we received.  Congratulations to the following:

Rupal Bhatnagar, MD and Timothy Ott, DO
Wanda Filer, MD
Kameron Leigh, MD
Evelyn Figueroa, MD
Lauren OShman, MD
Leena Deshpande and Britain O'Connor
Sonia Oyola, MD

Meet our 2014 FMM Award honorees!

Mid-Career Faculty, Renee Crichlow, MD - press release photo Power to Change our World, Missy McCoy - press release photo

From the 2014 Conference:  Check out the I-3 Award winners (Innovate, invigorate and Inspire!)